Ensure a robust research environment in chiropractic that is well funded, with a clear career pipeline for researchers to advance the body of work.


2022 Goals

  • Identify or create a unified body to take on the leadership role and establish a fundraising strategy
  • Hire science writer(s) to communicate research topics
  • Identify and create a distribution platform and process for the translated work
  • Establish a funded research scholarship
  • Hire a team to create a practice-based research study plan, with recourses needed to execute
2024 Goals

  • There are sponsored Ph.D. and fellowship positions
  • There is a unified body with an active funding strategy
  • The profession is actively engaged in research
  • The profession better understands what researchers do and their role in the profession
  • Translational research is actively funded and occurring to meet other priority needs
  • Schools are encouraging dual degree tracks in research
  • There is an established Chiropractic Science Network

Meet the team

Dr. Heidi Haavik

VP Research, NZ College of Chiropractic, PhD (University of Auckland). Author ‘The Reality Check’, Director Haavik Research Ltd.

Dr. Dana Lawrence

Dr. Dana Lawrence is  the Senior Director of Faculty development and Special Projects, Parker University. 

Dr. Joe Betz

While in active practice for 20 years, Dr. Joe Betz has also been a contributing author of three clinical practice guidelines on chiropractic best practices.

Dr. Cynthia Long

Dr. Long is Dean of Research at Palmer College of Chiropractic. She holds a MS degree in statistics and a PhD in biostatistics. 

Dr. Erik Kirk

Dr. Kirk graduated from Palmer College of Chiropractic. 

Dr. Alan Cook

Dr. Alan Cook graduated from Western States Chiropractic in 1989, specializing in osteoporosis. His is the principle investigator in one clinical trial, a sub-investigator in three trials, and is a continuing education lecturer. 

Dr. Paul Dougherty

Dr. Dougherty is a staff Chiropractor at Veterans Affairs Finger Lakes Health Care System.

Dr. Philip Facquet

Dr. Facquet is in private practice in Smithtown, New York and a District 7 Board Member of the New York State Chiropractic Association District Newsletter Editor. 

Dr. Katherine Pohlman

Katherine Pohlman, D.C., M.S. Ph.D. is Director of Research at Parker University and the 2020 ACA Researcher of the Year.

Dr. Mohsen Radpasand

Dr. Radpasand holds degrees in Medicine, Chiropractic and a M.S. in Clinical Research. His research interests focus on CAM treatment, their effect on Sport related injuries, and its biomechanical significance 

Dr. Brenda Holland

Dr. Brenda Holland is the Vice-President of the Wisconsin Chiropractic Society and President of Congress of Chiropractic State Associations. 

Let's work together on Research.

We'd love to hear from you. Fill out the form below to get started.